Read 2008/11 – The Terminal Beach

Book: 11
Title: The Terminal Beach
The Terminal Beach
Author: J.G.Ballard
Genre: Science Fiction
Why did you get this book? I bought this book years ago – look at the price on the cover – 4/6 – four shillings and six pence! England decimalized it’s currency on 15th February 1971. I digress.
Did you enjoy the book? Sort of. Ballard is not exactly your run of the mill science fiction author. He is a member of the New Wave of science fiction writers. I prefer other New Wave authors.
Was the author new to you? No. I have read this book before many years ago.
Would you read something by this author again? Probably if I found something in my Science Fiction bookshop that caught my eye.
Are you keeping it or passing it on? I am keeping it.
Anything else? A collection of twelve short stories. Most distopian in nature. They are more interested in the inner workings of the mind than the world the character is placed in. I dislike chaos and these tales probe into the disorder in our minds. They are disturbing – which perhaps explains their fascination.
Number of pages: 224
Total pages for the year: 3209

One Response to Read 2008/11 – The Terminal Beach

  1. […] fiuction authors I read in the sixties. I remember reading The Drowned World, The Crystal World and The Terminal Beach (which I still have in my library. Not my favorite science fiction author – too […]

Leave a Reply

