Read 2008/13 – The Goblin Reservation

Book: 13
Title: The Goblin Reservation

The Goblin Reservation
Author: Clifford D. Simak
Genre: Science Fiction
Why did you get this book? I like Simak.
Did you enjoy the book? Yes.
Was the author new to you? No. I have read several of his books before. Most recently The Cemetery World, Highway of Eternity and Way Station.
Would you read something by this author again? Yes.
Are you keeping it or passing it on? I am keeping it.
Anything else? Our hero returns from being diverted to a mysterious crystal world where an ancient race wish to sell the knowledge of two universes. The matter transmitter that diverted him sent sent his duplicate to the world he was originally traveling to. And now his other self has been killed in an accident. Our hero discovers he is officially dead. Now the people he has to try to sell the knowledge to want nothing to do with him. It would also help if he knew the price. The race on the crystal world have not yet informed him what it is. A tale of goblins and trolls, a ghost, a Neanderthal, a historian and her saber tooth tiger. Throw in Shakespeare on the run, a banshee or two and a painter from the past who apparently has met the ancient race, a touch of university bureaucracy and a couple of pub brawls and the stage is set to figure out how to sort out the mess.
Number of pages: 190
Total pages for the year: 3590

3 Responses to Read 2008/13 – The Goblin Reservation

  1. I’m beginning to get the sense that Simak is one of your favorite authors. I don’t know where I would get an idea like that….. lol.

    I’m curious: who are some of your other favorites?

  2. observethebanana says:

    What a great description, makes me want to read it. Sounds wacky.

  3. mph says:

    Bill: Yes I like Simak. I revisited Way Station and that started me off on a marathon. I am not sure why I like Way Station. I revisit it every decade or so. The loneliness of the character resonates with me for some reason. My other favorites are Niven and Pratchett. In olden days my favorites were Isaac Azimov, Robert Heinlein, Aurthur C Clarke and Poul Andersen. I seem to have grown away from them somewhat – they are showing their age. I also try a keep up with what my daughter reads so we can discuss them. Thats why I’ve read three of Eoin Colfer’s books. Strange – recently I have read quite a few young adult Sci-Fi/Fantasy books – I must be regressing. Time for a change.
    OTB: I suspect Simak is not everyones favorite. His works are showing their age. The best of more recent writers seem much more sophisticated. Many work hard to create a believable universe. Niven’s Known Space is a good example – he takes pains to make his astrophysics correct. For someone like me who is interested in astronomy this means his tales are not ruined by obviously flawed science. His smoke ring books are the same. Weird environment yes – but totally believable science in it.

Leave a Reply

