Read 2008/16 – Gulliver’s travels

Book: 16
Title: Gulliver’s Travels

Author: Jonathan Swift
Genre: Fantasy
Why did you get this book? This was an audio book downloaded from Librivox.
Did you enjoy the book? I guess. The intention was to revisit, as an adult, one of the fantasy books I read as a youth.
Was the author new to you? Not really.
Would you read something by this author again? Probably not. It would be way down on my list.
Are you keeping it or passing it on? I will keep it until I need the space on my hard drive.
Anything else? Gulliver’s Travels was first published in 1726. It tells of Gulliver’s misadventures as a ship’s surgeon and later as captain. He relates the tale of four voyages. On his first voyage he is ship wrecked and washed ashore in Lilliput. The inhabitants of Lilliput are one twelfth the size of human beings. On his second voyage his ship is driven off coarse and he is abandoned on the island of Brobdingnag whose inhabitants are ten times the size of humans. On his third voyage his ship is attacked by pirates and he is marooned. He is rescued by the inhabitants of the flying island of Laputa. On his fourth and final voyage he is attacked by his own crew and abandoned in a landing boat. He arrives at the country of the Houyhnhnms where intelligent talking horses are the rulers. In this county the humans, known as Yahoos, are degenerate savages and the horses are amazed at Gulliver’s ability to learn their language. The book is a satire on human nature.
Number of pages: Ca. 193
Total pages for the year: 4370

One Response to Read 2008/16 – Gulliver’s travels

  1. observethebanana says:

    Gulliver’s Travels has to be one of my all time favorite reads. As a child I enjoyed the various children’s adaptations of the Lilliputions and when I finally got old enough to read the entire text I was amazed at all that it contained, and the biting commentary on human nature. I have somehow inadvertently begun collecting various editions of this book and now have 9 or 10 on my shelf including one from 1890. Seeing your post makes me want to pick one up and re-read it, since it has been a very long time since I have visited the Houyhnhnms.

Leave a Reply

